KTW AirFlowSaver

Compressed Air System Providing 70+% Energy Savings for Virtually All Industrial Applications

Reduce compressed air consumption in your enterprise. Use less, achieve more, eliminate waste, and increase performance with a cost-efficient and customizable system that adapts to your needs and environment.

More efficiency - Less cost

Compressed air is an expensive energy source. Rising energy costs and the social focus on CO2-emissions and climate protection are aimed in particular at identifying and reducing energy wastage.

"It's time to rethink the use of compressed air!"

The first step in increasing the efficiency of compressed air systems is to optimise the applications. Only then is the optimisation of compressed air generation and distribution carried out. This is the only way to avoid oversizing the entire system.

How to Save on Compressed Air Consumption in Your Factory

KTW AirFlowSaver addresses the main issues of all compressed air applications. While an essential part of many processes, industrial compressed air is one of the most energy-intensive resources, costing up to ten times more than electricity. What’s even worse, a lot of it ends up wasted.

Energy losses in compressed air systems are dually bad for business. First, they waste money in the here and now. Secondly, an inefficient operation sets you up for difficulties in a future that is shaping up to be increasingly energy conscious and regulated due to efforts to curb greenhouse gas emissions and energy waste.

So far, most efforts have focused on savings on the production side in the form of more energy-efficient compressors and reducing leakage. KTW AirFlowSaver, on the other hand, deals with the other side of the coin: reducing consumption. By lessening the overall need for compressed air, you can potentially scale down the entire compressed air system of your operation.

"Nearly 70% of all industrial compressed air applications can become more efficient with the KTW AirFlowSaver !"

How Does KTW AirFlowSaver Increase Energy Efficiency in Compressed Air Applications?

Based on the KTW Smart Valve Technology, in order to save compressed air in any system, KTW AirFlowSaver adheres to three principles:

  1. Pulsing over continuous flow – 
    Since air nozzle emissions are always strongest at the initial impulse, air pulsing allows for 15-20% more power while using up less compressed air. 

  2. Avoid waste 
    Equipped with a powerful controller unit, KTW AirFlowSaver only works when needed, whether at pre-configured intervals or sensor-triggered events. In addition, under pressure, the valves are set to off/closed by default, avoiding loss while not in use. 

  3.  Ability to switch back and forth quickly 
    The need to switch quickly between the open and closed position puts high demands on the valve both in terms of reaction time and durability. KTW AirFlowSaver excels in both areas with frequencies of up to 3,000hz and a guarantee of more than five billion switching cycles.

How can the KTW AirFlowSaver be used?

Regular pulsing

Event controlled pulsing

  • Pulsing with defined switching time and frequency
  • For continuous or regularly interrupted processes 
  • Increases the effect and reduces the compressed air consumption
  • Pulsing in response to event detected by sensor
  • Single or multiple pulses per event possible
  • Fixed switching times
  • Savings vary with number and length of interruptions

Benefits of Using KTW AirFlowSaver for Your Pneumatic Application

50-95% Reduction in Pressurized Air Use

Our clients see reductions in the use of compressed air by at least half while benefiting from 15-20% higher impulse force. The increased energy efficiency often allows scaling down entire compressed air systems. It also means faster processing times, improved effectiveness, and reduced energy cost, making your entire operation more efficient and cost effective.

Customizable to Your Needs

KTW AirFlowSaver is available in a wide range of configurations. You can customize the controller, valve, nozzle, sensor, as well as assembly and connector parts. As a consequence, it’s possible to pick the best components for the job, including existing equipment, and finetune each part to best fit your needs and process. At the same time, it makes it easy to upgrade and downgrade as needed.

Works With Your Existing Environment

Thanks to its modular makeup, the compressed air system integrates into any existing system or working environment. It is able to adapt to almost any industrial compressed air system, existing processes, and specific requirements. For example, KTW AirFlowSaver is available with pressure levels of 1-10 bars (higher levels on request). Some standard configurations for common compressed air applications (e.g. drying bottles) are available as well. Custom solutions can easily be created on demand. Additionally, you have the option to choose a rental option.

Flexible Modes of Operation

KTW AirFlowSaver can run in three different modes:

  1. Pulsed flow at a predetermined frequency for a fixed time
  2. Continuous pulsing with varied frequency over time
  3. Sensor-triggered, event-controlled pulsing

The controller is able to open and close the valve upon sensor impulse almost in real time. It has a reaction time of 1ms and a switching time of 1.5 to 2ms for a closed cycle.

Cost Efficient

KTW Smart Valves last several billion cycles, are easy to maintain, and rarely need replacement. The result: less downtime and fewer replacement costs. Our clients typically see amortization of their investment in less than a year.

Modular construction kit

The KTW AirFlowSaver consists of function-oriented modules. For each of these modules, different technical solutions are available in a configuration kit. Thus the KTW AirFlowSaver can be adapted to almost all requirements and framework conditions. Standard configurations are also available, e.g. for blowing off and drying beverage packs, bottles and cans.

Why a modular construction kit?

  • Simple configuration and adaptation to the specific requirements of the application
  • Functional containment or expansion possible, even using existing components 
  • Maximisation of system performance by selecting the most suitable components for the respective function (best-of-breed)
  • Optimisation of system performance by fine-tuning the functions of the individual components
  • Spatially distributed assembly of the individual components allows adaptation to almost all structural boundary conditions  

MORE WITH LESS

Impact of KTW AirFlowSaver

A pulsed compressed air jet is more powerful than a continuous jet
Pulsing consumes less compressed air than a continuous jet

Pulsing increases the mechanical stress on conventional compressed air valves, which often fail after only a few million switching cycles and have to be replaced.

The KTW SmartValve Technologie allows several billion switching cycles without loss of functionality.

The KTW AirFlowSaver ensures that compressed air is only used when necessary. Thus, the sensor detects the event, e.g. the presence of an object, where the compressed air flow needs to be opened. Due to the direct connection of the sensor with the valve controller, the switching of the valve takes place without delay in almost real time.

The flow of compressed air is closed for the entire period in which the sensor does not report an event. Switching on and off, e.g. during interruptions, standstills and/or pause times, is not absolutely necessary. Another cause of wasted compressed air is thus also eliminated. 

The switching speed of the valve is decisive for the pulse strength and the consumption of compressed air. With a reaction time of 1.0ms and a switching time of 1.5-2.0ms for a closed cycle), the KTW AirFlowSaver is a top performer among compressed air applications.

This enables very short yet powerful pulses with low air consumption - both with regular and event-controlled pulsing. These features also offer advantages for classic pneumatic applications.   

Facts

Reduce between 50 and 95% Compressed Air

Increases efficiency by 15 to 20%

Reduces the TCO of the overall compressed air system

Areas of Application for KTW AirFlowSaver

KTW AirFlowSaver is suitable to reduce compressed air use in a number of different pneumatic applications and industrial equipment, including:

  • Blowing off
  • Drying
  • Degreasing
  • Cleaning
  • Dusting
  • Material transport
  • Elimination of static charges
    (in combination with an ionization source)
  • Modulation
  • Fumigation/gassing
  • Vacuum creation

As a consequence, among others, the technology can benefit companies from the following industries:

  • Metal processing, incl. automated CNC processing
  • Packaging
  • Electronics manufacturing and packaging
  • Filling and bottling
  • Chemical processing
  • Manufacturing/processing of synthetics
  • Die casting, pressure casting
  • Surface finishing
  • Paper, wood, and furniture manufacturing

Sample Applications

Latest News

ESA Spark Funding

When #SpaceTech comes to #Earth! That is our understanding of real climate protection – only from KTW Technology GmbH! We are proud to announce that we signed the  #esa  spark

Read More »

Do you have questions regarding our KTW AirFlowSaver?

Leave us your name and telephone number. We will get back to you as soon as possible.

KTW AirFlowSaver

Druckluftsystem mit 70+% Energieeinsparung für praktisch alle industriellen Anwendungen

Reduzieren Sie den Druckluftverbrauch in Ihrem Unternehmen. Verbrauchen Sie weniger, erreichen Sie mehr, beseitigen Sie Verschwendung und steigern Sie die Leistung mit einem kosteneffizienten und anpassbaren System, das sich an Ihre Bedürfnisse und Umgebung anpasst.

Mehr Effizienz - weniger Kosten!

Druckluft ist ein teurer Energieträger. Steigende Energiekosten sowie der gesellschaftliche Fokus auf CO2-Emmissionen und Klimaschutz zielen insbesondere auf die Identifizierung und Reduzierung von Energieverschwendungen.

„Es ist an der Zeit, die Verwendung von Druckluft neu zu denken!“

Der erste Schritt bei der Effizienzsteigerung von Druckluftsystemen ist die Optimierung der Anwendungen. Danach kann erst die Optimierung von Drucklufterzeugung und -verteilung erfolgen. Nur so kann eine Überdimensionierung des Gesamtsystems vermieden werden.

Wie Sie den Druckluftverbrauch in Ihrer Fabrik senken können

Der KTW AirFlowSaver befasst sich mit den Hauptproblemen bei allen Druckluftanwendungen. Obwohl sie ein wesentlicher Bestandteil vieler Prozesse ist, ist industrielle Druckluft eine der energieintensivsten Ressourcen und kostet bis zu zehnmal mehr als Strom. Noch schlimmer ist, dass ein großer Teil davon verschwendet wird.

Energieverluste in Druckluftsystemen sind in zweifacher Hinsicht schlecht fürs Geschäft. Erstens verschwenden sie hier und jetzt Geld. Zweitens bereitet ein ineffizienter Betrieb Schwierigkeiten in einer Zukunft, die aufgrund der Bemühungen um die Eindämmung von Treibhausgasemissionen und Energieverschwendung zunehmend energiebewusst und reguliert sein wird.

Bislang konzentrierten sich die meisten Bemühungen auf Einsparungen auf der Produktionsseite in Form von energieeffizienteren Kompressoren und der Reduzierung von Leckagen. Der KTW AirFlowSaver hingegen befasst sich mit der anderen Seite der Medaille: der Reduzierung des Verbrauchs. Indem Sie den Gesamtbedarf an Druckluft verringern, können Sie möglicherweise das gesamte Druckluftsystem Ihres Betriebs verkleinern.

"Nahezu 70% aller industriellen Druckluftanwendungen können durch den KTW AirFlowSaver effizienter werden!"

Wie steigert der KTW AirFlowSaver die Energieeffizienz bei Druckluftanwendungen?

Basierend auf der KTW Smart Valve Technology verfolgt der KTW AirFlowSaver drei Prinzipien, um Druckluft in jedem System zu sparen:

  1. Pulsieren statt kontinuierlich Blasen – 
    Da die Emissionen der Luftdüsen beim ersten Impuls immer an stärksten sind, ermöglicht das Pulsieren der Luft eine um 15-20% höhere Leistung bei geringerem Druckluftverbrauch. 

  2. Vermeiden Sie Verschwendung – 
    Ausgestaatet mit einer leistungsstarken Steuereinheit arbeitet der KTW AirFlowSaver nur dann, wenn er benötigt wird, sei es in vorkonfigurierten Intervallen oder bei sensorgesteuerten Ereignissen. Darüber hinaus sind die Ventile unter Druck standardmäßig auf aus/geschlossen eingestellt, um Verluste zu vermeiden, wenn sie nicht gebraucht werden. 

  3.  Schnelles Hin- und Herschalten – 
    Die Notwendigkeit, schnell zwischen offener und geschlossener Position zu wechseln, stellt hohe Anforderungen an das Ventil, sowohl in Bezug auf die Reacktionszeit als auch auf die Haltbarkeit. Der KTW AirFlowSaver überzeugt in beiden Bereichen mit Frequenzen von bis zu 3.000Hz und einer Garantie von mehr als fünf Milliarden Schaltzyklen.

Wie kann der KTW AirFlowSaver eingesetzt werden?

Regelmäßiges Pulsen

Ereignisgesteuertes Pulsen

  • Pulsen mit definierter Schaltzeit und Frequenz
  • Bei kontinuierlichen oder regelmäßig unterbrochenen Prozessen 
  • Erhöht die Wirkung und senkt den Druckluftverbrauch
  • Pulsen als Reaktion auf Ereignis, dass durch Sensors erkannt wird
  • Einfach- oder Mehrfach-Puls pro Ereignis möglich
  • Fest definierte Schaltzeiten
  • Einsparung variiert mit Anzahl und Länge der Unterbrechungen

Vorteile der Verwendung von KTW AirFlowSaver für Ihre pneumatische Anwendung

50-95% Reduzierung des Druckluftverbrauchs

Unsere Kunden verzeichnen eine Reduzierung des Druckluftverbrauchs um mindestens die Hälfte und profitieren gleichzeitig von einer um 15-20 % höheren Impulskraft. Die erhöhte Energieeffizienz ermöglicht oft die Verkleinerung ganzer Druckluftsysteme. Das bedeutet auch schnellere Verarbeitungszeiten, verbesserte Effektivität und geringere Energiekosten, wodurch Ihr gesamter Betrieb effizienter und kostengünstiger wird.

Anpassbar an Ihre Bedürfnisse

Der KTW AirFlowSaver ist in einer breiten Palette von Konfigurationen erhältlich. Sie können den Regler, das Ventil, die Düse, den Sensor sowie die Montage- und Verbindungsteile individuell anpassen. Folglich ist es möglich, die besten Komponenten für die Aufgabe auszuwählen, einschließlich vorhandener Ausrüstung, und jedes Teil so abzustimmen, dass es Ihren Bedürfnissen und Ihrem Prozess am besten entspricht. Gleichzeitig ist es einfach, bei Bedarf auf- und abzurüsten.

Funktioniert mit Ihrer bestehenden Umgebung

Dank seines modularen Aufbaus lässt sich das Druckluftsystem in jede bestehende Anlage oder Arbeitsumgebung integrieren. Es ist in der Lage, sich an nahezu jedes industrielle Druckluftsystem, bestehende Prozesse und spezifische Anforderungen anzupassen. So ist der KTW AirFlowSaver beispielsweise mit Druckstufen von 1-10 bar erhältlich (höhere Stufen auf Anfrage). Einige Standardkonfigurationen für gängige Druckluftanwendungen (z. B. Trocknungsflaschen) sind ebenfalls erhältlich. Kundenspezifische Lösungen können auf Anfrage leicht erstellt werden. Zusätzlich haben Sie die Möglichkeit, eine Mietoption zu wählen.

Flexible Betriebsmodi

Der KTW AirFlowSaver kann in drei verschiedenen Modi betrieben werden:

  1. Gepulster Durchfluss mit einer vorgegebenen Frequenz für eine bestimmte Zeit
  2. Kontinuierliches Pulsieren mit unterschiedlicher Frequenz über die Zeit
  3. Sensor-ausgelöstes, ereignisgesteuertes Pulsieren

Der Regler ist in der Lage, das Ventil auf einen Sensorimpuls hin fast in Echtzeit zu öffnen und zu schließen. Er hat eine Reaktionszeit von 1ms und eine Schaltzeit von 1,5 bis 2ms für einen geschlossenen Zyklus.

Kosteneffizient

KTW Smart Valves halten mehrere Milliarden Zyklen, sind einfach zu warten und müssen nur selten ausgetauscht werden. Das Ergebnis: weniger Ausfallzeiten und weniger Ersatzkosten. Für unsere Kunden amortisiert sich die Investition in der Regel in weniger als einem Jahr.

Modularer Baukasten

Der KTW AirFlowSaver besteht aus funktionsorientierten Modulen. Für jedes dieser Module sind unterschiedliche technische Lösungen in einem Konfigurationsbaukasten verfügbar. Somit kann der KTW AirFlowSaver an nahezu alle Anforderungen und Rahmenbedingungen angepasst werden. Ebenfalls sind Standardkonfigurationen verfügbar, wie z.B. für das Abblasen und Trocknen von Getränkepacks, -flaschen und -dosen.

Warum ein modularer Baukasten?

  • Einfache Konfiguration und Anpassung an die spezifischen Anforderungen der Anwendung
  • Funktionale Eingrenzung oder Erweiterung, auch unter Verwendung vorhandener Komponenten, möglich 
  • Maximierung der Systemleistung durch Auswahl der geeignetsten Komponenten für die jeweilige Funktion (Best-of-Breed)
  • Optimierung der Systemleistung durch Feinabstimmung der Funktionsweisen der Einzelkomponenten
  • Räumlich verteilte Montage der Einzelkomponenten erlaubt Anpassung an nahezu alle baulichen Randbedingungen  

Mehr mit weniger!

Wirkungsweise des KTW AirFlowSaver

Ein gepulster Druckluftstrahl ist kräftiger als ein kontinuierlicher Strahl
Pulsieren verbraucht weniger Druckluft als ein kontinuierlicher Strahl

Pulsieren steigert die mechanische Belastung herkömmlicher Druckluftventile, die häufig bereits nach wenigen Millionen Schaltzyklen ausfallen und getauscht werden müssen.

Die KTW SmartValve Technologie ermöglicht mehrere Milliarden Schaltzyklen ohne Einbußen der Funktionalität .

Der KTW AirFlowSaver sorgt dafür, dass Druckluft nur dann verbraucht wird, wenn es erforderlich ist. So erkennt der Sensor das Ereignis, z.B. die Anwesenheit eines Objekts, bei dem der Druckluftfluss geöffnet werden muss. Durch die direkte Verbindung des Sensors mit dem Ventilcontroller erfolgt die Schaltung des Ventils ohne Verzögerung in nahezu Echtzeit.

Der Fluss der Druckluft ist für den gesamten Zeitraum geschlossen, in dem der Sensor kein Ereignis meldet. Ein Ein- und Ausschalten, z.B. während Unterbrechungen, Stillständen und/oder Pausenzeiten ist nicht unbedingt erforderlich. Eine weitere Ursache für Druckluftverschwendungen wird somit ebenfalls eliminiert. 

Entscheidend für die Impulsstärke und den Verbrauch an Druckluft ist die Schaltgeschwindigkeit des Ventils. Mit einer Reaktionszeit von 1,0ms und einer Schaltzeit von 1,5–2,0ms für einen geschlossenen Zyklus) ist der KTW AirFlowSaver ein Spitzenreiter unter den Druckluftanwendungen.

Dies ermöglicht sehr kurze und dennoch kraftvolle Pulse mit geringem Luftverbrauch – sowohl bei regelmäßigem als auch bei ereignisgesteuertem Pulsen. Diese Eigenschaften bieten auch Vorteile für klassische Pneumatik-Anwendungen.   

Fakten

Spart zwischen 50 und 95% Druckluft

Steigert den Wirkungsgrad um 15 bis 20%

Senkt die TCO des Gesamt-Druckluftsystems

Anwendungsbereiche für KTW AirFlowSaver

Der KTW AirFlowSaver eignet sich zur Reduzierung des Druckluftverbrauchs in einer Reihe verschiedener pneumatischer Anwendungen und industrieller Geräte, darunter:

  • Abblasen
  • Trocknen
  • Entfettung
  • Reinigung
  • Abstauben
  • Transport von Material
  • Beseitigung statischer Aufladungen
    (in Kombination mit einer Ionisierungsquelle)
  • Modulation
  • Begasung / Gasung
  • Vakuumerzeugung

Daher kann die Technologie unter anderem Unternehmen aus den folgenden Branchen zugute kommen:

  • Metallverarbeitung, inkl. automatisierter CNC-Bearbeitung
  • Verpackung
  • Herstellung und Verpackung von Elektronik
  • Abfüllung und Flaschenabfüllung
  • Chemische Verarbeitung
  • Herstellung/Verarbeitung von Kunststoffen
  • Druckguss
  • Oberflächenbehandlung
  • Papier-, Holz- und Möbelherstellung

Einsatzbeispiele

Aktuelle Nachrichten

ESA Spark Funding

When #SpaceTech comes to #Earth! That is our understanding of real climate protection – only from KTW Technology GmbH! We are proud to announce that we signed the  #esa  spark

Read More »

Haben Sie Fragen zu unserem KTW AirFlowSaver?

Wenn Sie hier Ihren Namen und Ihre Telefonnummer hinterlassen, werden wir uns umgehend mit Ihnen in Verbindung setzen.