KTW High-speed Precision Dosing

Fast and Reliable Liquid-Dosing Technology

A highly durable and adaptable liquid-to-liquid dosing appliance for a multitude of industrial applications. Pay special attention to our flagship, food-grade pre- and post-dosing system that is perfect for food and beverage manufacturers, healthcare and pharmaceuticals, cosmetics and logistics, and industrial fluids.

Less cleaning - no flavour carry-over!

The product variance in the food industry is growing. Especially in the case of beverages and liquid foods, more and more recipes require the addition of small quantities of flavourings or additives. The risk of flavour carry-over in filling plants is increasing. Filling lines have to be thoroughly cleaned more and more frequently, at the latest when the product is changed. The plant efficiency decreases!

"Post-dosage effectively prevents contamination of the filling line". 

The solution is simple: the filling line fills the base drink. Then the flavourings and additives are post-dosed outside the filler. The media are mixed during transport. Up to now, this form of filling has been hampered by the high speed and accuracy requirements. A limitation that is eliminated by the innovative KTW High-speedPrecisionDosing System .

"The Post-Dosage is the simple answer to the ever-increasing pressure for efficiency in filling technology"

The Flexible System for All Your Liquid Dosing Needs

Our fully automated system is perfect for any purpose that requires fast dosing of precise amounts of liquid media into other fluids, including into moving containers. Available as both a modular, standalone version as well as an integrated variety, it easily adapts to most working environments. While the system is suitable for many purposes, the star of the show is our food-grade edition for beverage production.

Beverage Dosing Fit for Modern Consumer Demands

With our fast and precise pre- and post-dosing system, we are aiming to address the challenges that food and beverage makers have found themselves facing in recent years. In many places, consumer demand for more flavor variety have necessitated a shift from mass production to smaller batches, something a lot of facilities are not prepared for.

Many operations were originally aimed at large volumes with little variation. Transfering to smaller batches and more flavors requires time-intensive cleaning and modifying the equipment to avoid flavor carryover. The result is an increase in idle time, lower production volume, and an overall loss of efficiency. Plus, working with inferior valve technology unsuited for the demands leads to high maintance, low switching cycles, and frequent need for maintenance.

Especially facilities with few production lines have been faced with the question whether to make possibly substantial investments into new equipment, extensions, or entirely new lines. For those, and everyone else, the KTW High-Speed Precision Dosing System offers a cost effective alternative.

Based on KTW Smart Valve Technology the pre- and post-dosing system boasts exceptional precision and speed. Its modular makeup allows it to integrate into almost any existing environment and production line. Once in place, the system enables beverage producers to ramp up production variety with minimal investment, making facilities much more flexible to meet changing consumer tastes.

How Does Pre- and Post-Dosing Work?

Pre- and post-dosing is different from conventional beverage mixing methods. Here, the flavor medium is added into a moving open container before or after it has been filled with a base medium. Mixing happens during transport.

This makes creating different flavors from the same beverage base much easier. The only part of the production line that needs modification is the one responsible for administering the flavoring. Yet, to be viable, a pre- or post-dosing system needs a high level of precision so that it can accurately implement recipes. In addition, it needs to be able to accommodate certain volumes to make sense economically.

In the KTW High-Speed Precision Dosing System, the dosing medium is supplied in special pressure vessels. Both the container pressure and valve opening times define the dosing quantity, which can either be initiated via sensor signal or external control impulses. The system is able to deliver precise quantities at a high rate and can also document the delivered doses to validate repetition accuracy. In short, it has all the features needed for modern food and beverage manufacturers to deliver what the market demands.

Eight good reasons for using post-dosage:

Benefits of the KTW Beverage Dosing System

Speed and Precision

The system's high valve cycle speed (up to 35hz) means it is able to administer up to 2,000 doses a minute per valve or 120,000 doses per hour. At the same time, it can deliver variable dosages from 0.3ml to several liters and has a repeat accuracy equal to or above 98%, depending on size. In addition, the KTW High-Speed Precision Dosing System documents how much medium is delivered to ensure repetition accuracy.

Flexibility

Pre- and post-dosing reduces or eliminates the need for complex mixing processes and allows for the simple adaptation of recipes. Cleaning is limited to the dosing module whose mobility makes it easy to switch out, thus rendering fulfillment of small orders and batch sizes much more efficient. The system can also accommodate flexible filling strategies (meaning different valves administering varying amounts) per dosing, for example, to avoid splashing. 

It’s possible to use up to three valves per valve station, each working independently. Dosing is possible for linear and radial movement and works with almost all open containers (bottles, cans, beakers, canisters, etc.). The beverage dosing system also makes it simple to scale up by extending valve opening times and using several dosing valves.

Cost Effectiveness

Using the KTW High-Speed Precision Dosing System reduces the need for cleaning the entire production line between and during individual filling jobs. It eliminates aroma carryover in mixing and filling machines, has a space-saving design, short setup times, and allows for quick changeover between flavors. This means greater flexibility in planning and less downtime, making the system an affordable solution to expand your product portfolio. In addition, it is temperature and rust resistant, comes with long durability (in excess of five billion cycles), and a low need for maintenance.

Operating Principle

Post Dosage System beim Romina Mineralbrunnen in Reutlingen



Example of a Post-Dosage device


Pic: Design of the high speed precision dosing system for filling cans.

Important technical details of the stand-alone system:

  • Rack
  • Siemens S7 control system
  • 3 SmartValves
  • 3 Flow meter for determining the dosing quantity
  • Pump
  • Pressure vessel

Technical specification

All KTW High-speedPrecisionDosing Systems are based on the KTW SmartVale Technologie and benefit from the unique capabilities of this valve technology:

  • Dosing technology available as
    - Retrofittable integration module (one valve station, one dosing medium)
    - Mobile base module (one valve station, one dosing medium)
    - Stand-alone system (up to three valve stations, three dosing media)
  • Up to three valves per valve station possible, variable use
  • Up to 120,000 dosages per hour per valve
  • Dosing into almost all open containers (bottle, can, beaker, canister, ...)
  • High repeatability (shot-to-shot) of <1 - 2%, depending on size
  • Flexible filling strategies/recipes per dosing possible






"The KTW High-Speed Precision Dosing System forms the basis for a completely new and flexible form of beverage filling without batch size limits."

Applications for the Beverage Industry

The KTW High-Speed Precision Dosing System is suitable for a wide range of functional drinks and beverages, including but not limited to:

  • Flavorings/concentrate for near-water beverages, e.g. fitness and wellness drinks
  • Beer, Hard Seltzer, and other alcoholic beverages
  • Soft drinks
  • Juice (pulp free)
  • Energy drinks
  • Coffee
  • Vitamine
  • Enzymes
  • Nitrogen
  • Gas
  • Viscous liquids (particle free)

In detail, the technical skills address the following tasks in the production/filling of beverages or liquid foods:

  • Dosage of sensitive recipe components:
    Components such as probiotics (e.g. kombucha), allergenic substances (e.g. nuts), product-changing enzymes (e.g. lactase in the production of lactose-free milk), or substances that are difficult to clean (e.g. energy flavoring) can be kept out of the process and filling equipment. This minimizes the cleaning times required, eliminates the risk of carryover into downstream products, and removes existing restrictions on the use of equipment/machines (e.g. "once energy, always energy" or "may contain traces of nuts“).
  • Dosage of sensitive formulation ingredients:
    Selected components (e.g. vitamins, flavors, essential oils) can be protected from negative influences in the manufacturing process (e.g. heat treatment or wort boiling in beer brewing) and thus product quality can be increased
  • Volume-precise dosing of small quantities:
    Direct dosing into the container allows the quantity of a component contained in the container to be verified (e.g. Vitam D3 / Vitam C additions), documented and guaranteed. Formulation reliability in the container is improved. The high demands on homogenization/mixing of the batch, especially in case of strongly deviating volume ratios, are avoided. Process times are reduced.
  • Dosage of product-differentiating formulation ingredients:
    Direct dosing of low-volume formulation components that differentiate between specific characteristics/flavors of a product (e.g. flavors in flavored water, near-water beverages, craft beer, carbonated soft drinks) minimizes the product changeover time between the individual characteristics within the product group. The base product is produced conventionally and filled into the container, while the differentiating component is dosed into the container (pre- or post-) separately and with exact volume. By switching on or off one or more direct dosing units, it is possible to switch between products and/or formulations. Any cleaning times required to avoid flavor carryover can be avoided.
 
 
 

Available Beverage Dosing Systems

The pre- and post-dosing system is available in different configurations and either as a standalone system or as an extension for your existing production line or facility. 

In particular, we offer:

  • Dosage modules
  • Dosage facilities
  • Single/multiple stations
  • Modification/extension of existing facilities
  • Customer-specific facilities

The dosing technology is also available as:

  • Retrofittable integration modules (one valve station, one dosing medium)
  • Mobile base modules (one valve station, one dosing medium)
  • Standalone systems (up to three valve stations, three dosing media)

Power Classes

Further areas of application

It should also be noted that the above-mentioned restrictions on the dosing of small or low volumes only exist in relation to the application, due to the dosing in moving containers. In principle, this technology can also be used for the repeatable dosing of larger quantities/volumes, but this requires a dwell time of the container under the dosing unit that is adapted to the required dosing volume.

The application of dosing technology in a non-food sector is also possible and makes sense, insofar as comparable filling requirements exist here. Beispielmärkte sind Pharma, Chemie und Industrieflüssigkeiten.

 

 

Videos

Post Dosage in PET bottles
Post dosage of cans
Post dosage of glas bottles
Pre dosage of olive oil

Latest News

Pressemitteilung

Schneider Electric Deutschland und KTW Technology starten Partnerschaft zur Entwicklung nachhaltiger und effizienter Dosierstraßen für kleine Losgrößen Schneider Electric Deutschland und KTW Technology haben eine strategische

Read More »

Find out what new opportunities our high-speed dosing enables you to create

We'd love to support you to succeed in your industry. Request a free call back, and let's talk about how we can tackle the challenges which your industry faces.

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Ut elit tellus, luctus nec ullamcorper mattis, pulvinar dapibus leo.

KTW High-speed Precision Dosing

Schnelle und zuverlässige Flüssigkeits-Dosiertechnik

Ein äußerst langlebiges und anpassungsfähiges Flüssig-zu-Flüssig-Dosiergerät für eine Vielzahl von industriellen Anwendungen. Achten Sie besonders auf unser Flaggschiff, ein lebensmitteltaugliches Vor- und Nachdosiersystem, das sich perfekt für Lebensmittel- und Getränkehersteller eignet Auch prädestiniert is das System für Anwendungen in der Lebensmittel-, Kosmetik- und Pharmaindustrie, der Logistik und industriellen Flüssigkeiten.

Weniger Reinigen - keine Aromaverschleppung!

Die Produktvarianz in der Nahrungsmittelindustrie wächst. Insbesondere bei Getränken und flüssigen Nahrungsmitteln erfordern mehr und mehr Rezepturen die Zugabe von geringen Mengen an Aroma- bzw. Zusatzstoffen. Das Risiko der Aromaverschleppung in den Abfüllanlagen steigt. Immer häufiger, spätestens beim Produktwechsel, müssen Abfüllanlagen gründlich gereinigt werden. Die Anlageneffizienz sinkt!

„Die Post-Dosage verhindert effektiv die Kontamination der Abfüllanlage“ 

Die Lösung ist einfach: Die Abfüllanlage befüllt das Basisgetränk. Anschließend werden die Aroma- und Zusatzstoffe außerhalb des Füllers nachdosiert. Die Vermischung der Medien erfolgt beim Transport. Dieser Form der Abfüllung stand bislang die hohen Geschwindigkeits- und Genauigkeitsanforderungen entgegen. Eine Limitierung die durch das neuartige KTW High-speedPrecisionDosing System beseitigt wird.

„Die Post-Dosage ist die einfache Antwort auf den stetig wachsenden Effizienzdruck in der Abfülltechnik“

Das flexible System für alle Ihre Flüssigkeitsdosierungsbedürfnisse

Unser vollautomatisches System eignet sich perfekt für alle Zwecke, bei denen eine schnelle Dosierung von präzisen Mengen flüssiger Medien in andere Flüssigkeiten, auch in bewegliche Behälter, erforderlich ist. Es ist sowohl als modulare, eigenständige Version als auch als integrierte Variante erhältlich und lässt sich leicht an die meisten Arbeitsumgebungen anpassen. Während das System für viele Zwecke geeignet ist, ist der Star der Show unsere lebensmitteltaugliche Version für die Getränkeherstellung.

Getränkedosierung fit für moderne Verbraucherbedürfnisse

Mit unserem schnellen und präzisen Vor- und Nachdosiersystem wollen wir die Herausforderungen angehen, mit denen sich die Lebensmittel- und Getränkehersteller in den letzten Jahren konfrontiert sahen. Vielerorts hat die Nachfrage der Verbraucher nach mehr Geschmacksvielfalt eine Umstellung von der Massenproduktion auf kleinere Chargen erforderlich gemacht, worauf viele Betriebe nicht vorbereitet sind.

Viele Verfahren waren ursprünglich auf große Mengen mit wenig Variationen ausgerichtet. Die Umstellung auf kleinere Chargen und mehr Geschmacksrichtungen erfordert eine zeitintensive Reinigung und Anpassung der Anlagen, um Geschmacksverschleppungen zu vermeiden. Das Ergebnis ist ein Anstieg der Leerlaufzeiten, ein geringeres Produktionsvolumen und ein allgemeiner Effizienzverlust. Außerdem führt die Arbeit mit minderwertiger, für die Anforderungen ungeeigneter Ventiltechnik zu hohem Verschleiß, geringen Schaltzyklen und häufigem Wartungsbedarf.

Vor allem Betriebe mit wenigen Produktionslinien standen bisher vor der Frage, ob sie möglicherweise erhebliche Investitionen in neue Anlagen, Erweiterungen oder ganz neue Linien tätigen sollten. Für diese und alle anderen bietet das KTW-Hochgeschwindigkeits-Präzisionsdosiersystem eine kostengünstige Alternative.

Das auf der KTW Smart Valve Technology basierende Vor- und Nachdosiersystem zeichnet sich durch außergewöhnliche Präzision und Geschwindigkeit aus. Dank seines modularen Aufbaus lässt es sich in nahezu jede bestehende Umgebung und Produktionslinie integrieren. Einmal installiert, ermöglicht das System den Getränkeherstellern, die Produktionsvielfalt mit minimalen Investitionen zu erhöhen, wodurch die Anlagen viel flexibler werden, um den sich ändernden Geschmack der Verbraucher zu treffen.

Wie funktioniert das Pre- und Post-Dosing?

Die Vor- und Nachdosierung unterscheidet sich von herkömmlichen Getränkemischmethoden. Hier wird das Geschmacksmedium in einen sich bewegenden offenen Behälter gegeben, bevor oder nachdem dieser mit einem Basismedium befüllt worden ist. Die Vermischung erfolgt während des Transports.

Dadurch wird die Herstellung verschiedener Geschmacksrichtungen aus der gleichen Getränkebasis sehr viel einfacher. Der einzige Teil der Produktionslinie, der geändert werden muss, ist derjenige, der für die Verabreichung der Aromen zuständig ist. Um rentabel zu sein, muss ein Vor- oder Nachdosiersystem jedoch ein hohes Maß an Präzision aufweisen, damit es die Rezepturen genau umsetzen kann. Außerdem muss es bestimmte Mengen bewältigen können, um wirtschaftlich sinnvoll zu sein.

Bei der KTW-Hochgeschwindigkeits-Präzisionsdosieranlage wird das Dosiermedium in speziellen Druckbehältern bereitgestellt. Sowohl der Behälterdruck als auch die Ventilöffnungszeiten bestimmen die Dosiermenge, die entweder über ein Sensorsignal oder externe Steuerimpulse ausgelöst werden kann. Das System ist in der Lage, präzise Mengen mit hoher Geschwindigkeit zu liefern und kann die gelieferten Dosen auch dokumentieren, um die Wiederholgenauigkeit zu validieren. Kurz gesagt, es verfügt über alle Funktionen, die moderne Lebensmittel- und Getränkehersteller benötigen, um das zu liefern, was der Markt verlangt.

Acht gute Gründe für den Einsatz der Post-Dosage:

Vorteile des KTW-Getränkedosiersystems

Geschwindigkeit und Präzision

Dank der hohen Ventilzyklusgeschwindigkeit (bis zu 35 Hz) ist das System in der Lage, bis zu 2.000 Dosen pro Minute pro Ventil oder 120.000 Dosen pro Stunde zu verabreichen. Gleichzeitig kann es variable Dosierungen von 0,3 ml bis zu mehreren Litern abgeben und hat eine Wiederholgenauigkeit von 98 % oder mehr, je nach Größe. Darüber hinaus dokumentiert das KTW High-Speed-Präzisionsdosiersystem, wie viel Medium abgegeben wird, um die Wiederholgenauigkeit zu gewährleisten.

Flexibilität

Die Vor- und Nachdosierung reduziert oder eliminiert die Notwendigkeit komplexer Mischprozesse und ermöglicht eine einfache Anpassung der Rezepturen. Die Reinigung beschränkt sich auf das Dosiermodul, das aufgrund seiner Mobilität leicht ausgetauscht werden kann, wodurch die Erfüllung kleiner Aufträge und Losgrößen wesentlich effizienter wird. Das System kann auch flexible Abfüllstrategien (d.h. verschiedene Ventile, die unterschiedliche Mengen verabreichen) pro Dosierung berücksichtigen, um z.B. Spritzer zu vermeiden. 

Es ist möglich, bis zu drei Ventile pro Ventilstation zu verwenden, die unabhängig voneinander arbeiten. Die Dosierung ist für lineare und radiale Bewegungen möglich und funktioniert mit fast allen offenen Behältern (Flaschen, Dosen, Becher, Kanister usw.). Das Getränkedosiersystem ermöglicht auch eine einfache Skalierung durch Verlängerung der Ventilöffnungszeiten und den Einsatz mehrerer Dosierventile.

Kosteneffizienz

Der Einsatz des KTW High-Speed-Präzisionsdosiersystems reduziert den Reinigungsbedarf der gesamten Produktionslinie zwischen und während der einzelnen Abfüllvorgänge. Es vermeidet Aromaverschleppungen in Misch- und Abfüllmaschinen, ist platzsparend konstruiert, hat kurze Rüstzeiten und ermöglicht einen schnellen Wechsel zwischen den Geschmacksrichtungen. Das bedeutet mehr Flexibilität in der Planung und weniger Ausfallzeiten und macht das System zu einer erschwinglichen Lösung zur Erweiterung Ihres Produktportfolios. Darüber hinaus ist es temperatur- und rostbeständig, hat eine lange Lebensdauer (über fünf Milliarden Zyklen) und einen geringen Wartungsbedarf.

Funktionsprinzip

Post Dosage System beim Romina Mineralbrunnen in Reutlingen



Beispiel einer Post-Dosage-Anlage


Bild: Auslegung der Schnelldosieranlage für die Abfüllung von Dosen.

Wichtige technische Details des Stand-Alone-Systems:

  • Gestell
  • Siemens S7 Steuerung
  • 3 SmartValves
  • 3 Durchflussmesser zur Bestimmung der Dosiermenge
  • Pumpe
  • Druckbehälter

Technische Spezifikation

Alle KTW High-speedPrecisionDosing Systeme basieren auf der KTW SmartVale Technologie und profitieren von den einzigartigen Fähigkeiten dieser Ventiltechnologie:

  • Dosiertechnologie verfügbar als
    – nachrüstbares Integrationsmodul (eine Ventilstation, ein Dosiermedium)
    – Mobiles Basismodul (eine Ventilstation, ein Dosiermedium)
    – Stand-alone System (bis zu drei Ventilstationen, drei Dosiermedien)
  • Bis zu drei Ventile pro Ventilstation möglich, variabler Einsatz
  • Bis zu 120.000 Dosierungen pro Stunde pro Ventil
  • Dosierung in nahezu alle offenen Behälter (Flasche, Dose, Becher, Kannister, …)
  • Hohe Wiederholgenauigkeit (Shot-to-Shot) von <1 – 2%, baugrößen-abhängig
  • Flexible Abfüllstrategien/-rezepte pro Dosierung möglich






„Das KTW High-Speed Precision Dosing System bildet die Grundlage für eine vollkommen neue und flexible Form der Getränkeabfüllung ohne Losgrößenbegrenzung.“

Anwendungen für die Getränkeindustrie

Das KTW-Hochgeschwindigkeits-Präzisionsdosiersystem eignet sich für eine breite Palette von funktionellen Getränken, einschließlich, aber nicht beschränkt auf:

  • Aromen/Konzentrat für Near-Water-Getränke, z.B. Fitness- und Wellness-Getränke
  • Bier, Hard Seltzer und andere alkoholische Getränke
  • Erfrischungsgetränke
  • Saft (ohne Fruchtfleisch)
  • Energy-Drinks
  • Kaffee
  • Stickstoff
  • Gas
  • Viskose Flüssigkeiten (partikelfrei)

Verfügbare Getränkedosiersysteme

Das Vor- und Nachdosiersystem ist in verschiedenen Konfigurationen und entweder als eigenständiges System oder als Erweiterung für Ihre bestehende Produktionslinie oder Anlage erhältlich. 

Im Einzelnen bieten wir an:

  • Dosierungsmodule
  • Dosiereinrichtungen
  • Einzelne/mehrere Stationen
  • Änderung/Erweiterung bestehender Einrichtungen
  • Kundenspezifische Einrichtungen

Die Dosiertechnik gibt es auch als:

  • Nachrüstbare Integrationsmodule (eine Ventilstation, ein Dosiermedium)
  • Mobile Basismodule (eine Ventilstation, ein Dosiermedium)
  • Eigenständige Systeme (bis zu drei Ventilstationen, drei Dosiermedien)

Leistungsklassen

Videos

Post Dosage in Flaschen
Post Dosage in Dosen

Aktuelle Nachrichten

Innovation Night Aachen

Zur Innovation Night Aachen hatte die EurA AG geladen. Im Rahmen der Veranstaltung wurde ein Einblick in Potenziale und Anwendungsfelder von #Wasserstofftechnologien, den Austausch mit der #Raumfahrt(Technologietransfer)

Read More »

Erfahren Sie welche neue Chancen Ihnen unsere Schnelldosierung ermöglicht

Wir würden Sie gerne dabei unterstützen, in Ihrer Branche erfolgreich zu sein. Fordern Sie einen kostenlosen Rückruf an, und lassen Sie uns darüber sprechen, wie wir die Herausforderungen Ihrer Branche angehen können.

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Ut elit tellus, luctus nec ullamcorper mattis, pulvinar dapibus leo.